轻混动力: 工作原理、优势和应用领域一览

轻混动力的简要概述: 是什么让一辆汽车成为轻混动力车?

轻混动力使传统内燃机的效率明显提高,而且成本低廉。 为此(类似于一级方程式赛车中的KERS),在车辆制动时回收利用动能( “余热利用” )。

这些本来会损失的能量储存在一个 48V 电池中,然后用来辅助电机,并为强大的 48V 汽车电路提供电力。 这样,在具备其他优点的同时,还可以减少15%或更多的燃料消耗,并相应地减少二氧化碳排放。

在最简单的实施形式中(“ P0拓扑结构 ”),传统的皮带上安装的 12V 发电机被 48V 系统取代 - 例如:“ 助力回收电机 ”。 它在制动时以很高的效率将动能转化为电能,并将其储存在一个小型的、额外的 48V 电池中。 然后以最大12千瓦的功率辅助内燃机。 此外,还可以为与安全有关的高性能用电器(如驾驶辅助功能或电动制动助力器)可靠地提供 48V 电压。

48V 系统也可以灵活地用于传动系统的其他方面 – 其中,有着不同程度的集成费用和节约潜力。 为了实现气候目标,轻混动力是汽车生产商的核心部分,而它正被用于越来越多的车型和车辆类别。 目前,约有X百万辆配备P0 48V 系统的车辆已经上路 - 而且这一趋势正在急剧上升。 市场研究机构 IHS Markit 预计在2025年,全球 48V 轻混动力车的产量将远远超过1000万辆。


年度48伏混合动力产量预测(数据来源: IHS Markit, https://ihsmarkit.com)

什么是轻混动力汽车,48V 代表什么?

轻混动力车是指配有内燃机的车辆,同时也辅助有小型电力驱动装置。 电动机回收制动力(“ 余热利用 ”),并在之后提供额外的驱动力,以减少总体燃料消耗。 与全混合动力车或电动汽车相比 ,根据定义只能在有限范围内实现纯电动驾驶。

但是,也有一些基于 12V 的轻混动力车。 然而,在大多数情况下,使用更强大的 48V 系统,意味着可以回收更多的能量,从而可以更多地减少消耗。 由于这个原因,专家们对“轻混动力”和“48V”这两个术语的使用是同义的。

针对: 技术比较: 轻混动力车、全混合动力车、插电式混合动力车、电动汽车

为什么我们需要轻混动力?

该技术为驾驶员和生产商 带来许多好处 - 实施成本低。

但最重要的因素是气候保护: 电动汽车正走向人们的视野,特别是因为在欧洲和中国这样的核心市场有明确的政策承诺。 然而,不能随意加快这种转变,毕竟,必须同步进行技术、电池供应、基础设施和发电方面的发展。


根据《 彭博电动汽车展望 2021 》,仅到2040年就会有超过10亿辆内燃机汽车,其中主要原因是非洲、拉丁美洲和印度等国家向电动汽车的过渡要缓慢得多。 这将导致额外高达270亿吨的二氧化碳排放 - 约占剩余全球二氧化碳预算的10%,为目标值的1.5倍。





当务之急是尽可能有效地设计这些车辆,以尽量减少对全球气候的影响。 轻混动力可以避免这些排放的15%至25% - 如果我们不使用该技术,则将永远失去这种节约潜力

作为一名驾驶员,我有哪些收益?

从传统内燃机到 48V 轻混动力的“升级”给驾驶员带来了功率的显著增加。 在行驶过程中,回收制动能量( 余热利用 ),然后在动力需求增加时为发动机提供最多15千瓦/20马力的辅助( 功率增大 ),这也避免了低转速时的涡轮迟滞。

通过 48V 系统,可以特别平稳和安静地启动车辆,并且可以通过 48V 汽车电路安全地提供耗能的舒适和安全功能,如驾驶辅助系统、侧倾稳定器或涡轮增压器。 即使是所谓的 “ 惯性滑行 ”(即在高速行驶时关闭发动机)也是可以实现的,并且可以节省额外的燃料。




通过大幅减少燃料消耗,轻混动力不仅对环境有利,而且也节省费用: 例如:48V 助力回收电机 与传统内燃机相比,在15万公里的使用时间内可节省近1500升燃料。 这意味着减少了3.5吨的二氧化碳排放,以及在加油站至少减少2000欧元的支出。

并不是每个人今天都在考虑购买电动汽车 - 例如:因为他们经常长途驾驶,在自己的地区还没有设立合适的充电基础设施,或者他们想等待进一步的技术发展。 在这种情况下,48V 混合动力是一个明智的解决方案,它可以将对气候的影响保持在尽可能低的水平 - 而且还可以使驾驶更舒适、更安全。

传动系统中的机械集成是如何工作的?

轻混动力技术可以整合到所有现有的内燃机动力系统架构中 -只需很少或稍多的费用,取决于所需的性能范围。

原则上,在动力系统中,除了内燃机之外,总是安装一个带逆变器的电动机和一个小型 48V 电池(约0.5至1千瓦时),为 48V 汽车电路提供能量。 此外,还需要一个DC/DC转换器来供应 12V 汽车电路。 另一方面,由于电压较低,也可以忽略复杂且昂贵的高压保护要求和线束。

必要的电动机可以灵活地安装在传动系统中 - 在皮带上、传动环境中或在后桥上。 根据不同的定位,节约潜力、电力驱动功能以及集成费用和相关的系统成本都有所不同。 在传动系统中的位置也称为“拓扑结构”,安装位置简称为P0至P4。


P0是轻混动力的最简单解决方案 - 为此,取代了 48V 系统
BRM 在其现有的皮带安装空间上替换发电机一样。 对传动系统构架的干预是最小的 - 实施和系统成本也最低。 此外,通过这种“ 启动发电机 ”的回收,在实际运行中与传统内燃机相比,可以节省最多15%的燃料消耗。


P1代表电动机置于内燃机和传动装置之间。 在实践中,这很少被使用,因为其实施比P0要复杂得多,成本也高得多,并且没有在很大程度上进一步利用节约潜力。


P2和P3表示电子驱动装置在传动装置环境中的整合 - 在P2中直接位于主传动装置一侧或通过皮带连接,在P3中直接位于后面的驱动轴上。 这两种拓扑结构的成本/效益比接近。 然而,它们在机械方面要比P0复杂得多,其中主要是因为电动机不是作为一个整体而是作为单独的部件安装在传动装置中,而且不能有空气冷却。 此外,通常仍然需要启动器来启动电机 - 所有这些都使成本上升。

作为回报,由于较低的电机摩擦损失,可以实现最多22%的节约率。 即使是缓慢的纯电动驾驶(“蠕动模式”),例如:用于停车或在交通堵塞中反复启停,在技术上也是可行的。

P4最终意味着在后桥通过一个差动齿轮整合一个或两个 48V 系统。 这里,传动系统的摩擦损失最低,因此可以实现最高的节约率(最多25%)。 此外,这种拓扑结构提供了最全面的电子驾驶功能。 除了“蠕动模式”外,还可以结合内燃机启用(临时)全轮驱动。 这种解决方案代表了对传动系统的最大干预,并产生最高的系统成本。 这里,也需要一个额外的启动器或启动发电机。

通过相应的传动比和电动机的功率,P4原则上也可用于驱动 48V 全混合动力汽车,甚至是紧凑型 48V 电动汽车 - 没有高压所需的安全结构。

48V 汽车电路有哪些优点? 它是否会取代 12V 汽车电路?

当今,汽车中电气用电器的数量比过去高得多。 安全和舒适功能,如主动车轮悬架或挡风玻璃加热器,与高性能泵或涡轮增压器一样耗费能源。

由于电压水平提高了四倍,48V 轻混动力车可以回收更多的动能,然后再将其利用起来。 这样就能可靠地供应高性能的用电器,并实现额外的驾驶功能,如舒适启动、功率增大和冷却。 同时,48V 是一种低电压水平,对人体没有危险。 因此,与高压系统不同,48V 汽车电路没有特殊的安全要求。

一辆 48V 轻混动力车实际上有两个汽车电路: 所有有低电压需求的用电器,如收音机、大灯或车窗升降器,继续通过传统的 12V 电源供电。 这意味着这些组件不必转换到不同的电压水平,从而减少了系统集成所需的费用。 两个汽车电路通过一个DC/DC转换器进行耦合 - 因此,回收的制动能量也可以为 12V 电源供电。

技术比较: 轻混动力车、全混合动力车、插电式混合动力车和电动汽车的区别是什么?

所有这三种驱动方案都有一个车载电动机 - 它们主要在主能源、电压水平和电力驱动功能方面有所不同。

轻混动力车

在轻混动力车中,主要驱动装置是内燃机,电动机主要是用来提高效率的。 回收制动能量,储存在一个小型 48V 电池中(约0.5至1千瓦时),并用于额外的扭矩和汽车电路供电。 根据拓扑结构,可以节省15至25%的燃料消耗。 纯电动驾驶根本不可能,或只能在非常有限的范围内实现。


全混合动力车

全混合动力车基于同样的原则: 能量仅通过燃料从外部提供给系统 - 但电动机在制动时回收动能,并在以后再次供给。 差异: 全混合动力车通常在高电压状态下运行,并配有一个更大的电池。 因此,安全要求和系统成本大大增加。 另一方面,可以回收和储存更多的能量,并且可以只用电动机行驶短距离的路程。

插电式混合动力车

一辆插电式混合动力车配有两个完整的驱动器 - 一个内燃机和一个高压电动机。 这种“双动力化”和较大的电池(通常为10千瓦时左右)使成本和重量增加。 另一方面,纯电动驾驶通常可以达到40至60公里左右,而理论上内燃机只有在长途旅行中才有必要。 电池通过插座充电,例如:直接通过家用电源充电。


电动汽车(BEV)

电池驱动的电动汽车(BEV)完全没有内燃机,但需要大得多的电池 - 根据不同的车型,每100公里大约需要20千瓦时的电池容量。 这里,也是通过家里的插座进行充电的 - 或者在越来越多的公共充电桩电网中进行充电。

目前,还没有为每个用电器提供最佳的选择 - 个人方面的需求(例如:只用于城市驾驶的汽车和 职业驾驶员)和地区条件(特别是充电基础设施和可再生能源在电力组合中的份额)差异太大。 从长远来看,个人交通工具的转变显然是朝着BEV的方向发展 - 但在这个过程中,轻混动力车特别可以避免大量不必要的二氧化碳排放。

48V 可以用于哪些类型的车辆?

强大的电动机与低安全要求的结合,使得 48V 系统不仅适用于轻混动力应用,还包括其他的广泛领域。

除了汽车生产商的产品组合外,48V 系统也因此越来越多地成为轻型电动汽车的主要驱动力。 例如:重新推出的东德时代经典Schwalbe的电气化车型,其中提供了如Emmy等共享服务,同样印度的电动人力车和小型汽车在不久后也将由 48V 系统来驱动。

即使在乘用车中,48V 也可以做得更多,而不仅仅是轻混动力。 例如:适当升级的电动机可以提供足够的动力来驱动 48V 全混合动力车,甚至是紧凑型 48V 电动汽车 - 如在后桥上使用两个EM 1.25。

在商用车领域,48V 系统也开启了新的可能性 - 从轻型卡车的启停功能到重型卡车的轻混动力。 在各种非道路应用中,如骑乘式割草机,48V 系统也为减少排放提供了新的优势和机会。


48伏电机助力两轮及三轮摩托车向电气化转型,如

为什么生产商对轻混动力也感兴趣?

48V 结合了三个方面,正是这种结合对汽车生产商来说非常有吸引力: 大幅减少二氧化碳排放,面向终端消费者的特别卖点,并以成本效益的方式整合到现有车辆平台中。

越来越严格的二氧化碳限制给生产商带来了压力,因此需要更加高效地设计车辆。 在整个投资组合中系统地引进 48V 混合动力车可以快速有效地减少运输车队的消耗。 这样,也可以更容易满足未来的 Euro7 等排放标准 - 一方面通过降低燃料消耗,另一方面是因为 48V 汽车电路可以在冷启动时预热催化器,从而减少排放。

同时,凭借 48V 的优势,它也是促使客户购买的额外动力,因为客户特别看中低消耗和附加功能,如舒适启动或功率增大等。 此外,机械集成费用是可控的 - 皮带上的 48V 系统代替传统的发电机,可以以较低的系统成本实施,而且几乎所有现有的车辆平台都不需要重大改造。 48V 混合动力系统不仅对客户来说是经济的,而且还可以通过避免可能的处罚为生产商节省成本。 以欧盟为例,比较容易实现的10克二氧化碳/公里的节约量相当于950欧元的罚金 - 基本上涵盖了P0解决方案的系统成本。

遇到红灯,48伏能量回收加速辅助系统电机工作状态的特写

SEG汽车公司提供哪些 48V 解决方案?

SEG汽车公司为所有动力总成架构开发产品 - 无论能源来自燃料、电池还是氢气。 我们的目标始终如一: 尽可能地提高车辆的效率。 通过我们强大的解决方案,加快了向更高效的内燃机、电动汽车和碳中和出行的转变。

其中针对 48V,我们为不同的用途提供三种不同的产品组合。SEG汽车公司根据客户的需求,作为一个包含电子设备和软件的完整包,或作为单独的组件提供解决方案。

在SEG汽车公司,48V 领域有什么样的职业机会?

近年来,汽车的复杂性迅速增加,不仅是因为自主驾驶功能。 因此,在我们的 48V 和电气化产品背后,都有着硬件、软件、电子、测试和制造方面的紧密团队支持。 从测试、原型设计和流程开发到编码和质量保证,我们为工程师、软件设计师、物流人员等提供优质的工作机会。



工程师进行CAD设计

Mild hybridization: Overview of functions, benefits and fields of application

Mild hybridization - A brief overview: What makes a car a mild hybrid?

Mild hybrids make conventional combustion engines significantly more efficient with little effort. This involves recovering kinetic energy while the vehicle is braking (" recuperation ") - just like KERS in Formula 1.

This energy, otherwise lost, is stored in a 48V battery and then used to support the engine and power a high-performance 48V on-board electrical system. In addition to other benefits, this mild hybridization cuts fuel consumption by 15% or more - and thus reduces CO2 emissions accordingly.

In the simplest implementation (" P0 topology "), the conventional 12V generator is replaced in its integration space on the belt by a 48V machine - a Boost Recuperation Machine , for example. It converts kinetic energy into electrical energy with high efficiency during braking and stores it in a small, additional 48V battery. It also supports the combustion engine with up to 12 kW of electrical power. In addition, safety-relevant high-performance consumers such as driver assistance functions or electric brake boosters can be reliably supplied with 48V voltage.

A 48V machine can also be flexibly implemented at other positions in the powertrain - with varying degrees of integration effort and savings potential. To achieve the varying climate objectives in each region, mild hybrids are a vital component for automobile manufacturers. The technology is showing up in an increasing number of models and vehicle classes. Over 4,5 million vehicles have been equipped with a 48V machine already, primarily with P0 topology. Market research company IHS Markit expects global annual production of 48V mild hybrids to be well over 10 Million as early as 2025.


Annual 48V hybrid production forecast (source: IHS Markit, https://ihsmarkit.com)

What makes a car a mild hybrid, and what does 48V stand for?

A mild hybrid refers to a vehicle with an internal combustion engine that is also supported by a small electric drive. The electric motor recovers braking energy (" recuperation ") and makes it available later as additional drive power to reduce overall fuel consumption. In contrast to a full hybrid or an electric car , a mild hybrid can be driven in purely electric mode only to a limited extent.

There are also some mild hybrids operating on 12V. In most cases, therefore, a more powerful 48V machine is used, which recuperates more energy and thus also reduces fuel consumption to a greater extent. Experts, therefore, often use the terms "mild hybrid" and "48V" interchangeably.

Why do we need mild hybrids at all?

This technology offers many benefits for drivers and manufacturers - at low implementation costs.

The most important factor is climate protection, though: e-mobility is emerging, primarily due to the unequivocal political commitment in core markets such as Europe and China. However, this transformation cannot be accelerated at will after all, technology, battery availability, infrastructure, and power generation must be further developed simultaneously.


According to the Bloomberg Electric Vehicle Outlook 2021 , over one billion more cars with internal combustion engines (ICE) are expected to be built by 2040 alone. This is partly due to the much slower shift to e-mobility in regions such as Africa, Latin America and India.

These future ICE cars would cause up to another 27 billion tons of CO2 emissions - about 10% of the global CO2 residual budget to meet the 1.5-degree target.




These vehicles must be designed to be as efficient as possible to minimize global climate change. Mild hybridization can prevent 15%-25% of these emissions. Neglecting this technology would mean losing this savings potential forever.

Equipping all one billion combustion vehicles to be produced by 2040 with 48V hybridization would save at least two billion metric tons of CO2 - around three times Germany's total greenhouse gas emissions in 2020. With more complex topologies , savings of 4 billion metric tons and more are possible through 48V hybridization.

What are the benefits for the driver?

"Upgrading" from a conventional combustion engine to a 48V mild hybrid earns the driver a significant increase in the performance range. Braking energy is recovered while driving ( recuperation ) to then support the engine with up to 15 kW/ 20 hp when power requirements increase ( boost ). A turbo lag at low engine speeds can be eliminated.

The vehicle can start particularly smoothly and quietly thanks to the 48V engine, and high-consumption comfort. " Coasting " - i.e. driving with the engine switched off at high speeds - becomes possible and can save additional fuel.




Thanks to significantly reduced consumption, mild hybrids are a better solution not just for the environment, but also for the driver’s budget: Over a lifetime of 150,000 km, for example, the 48V Boost Recuperation Machine saves over 1,500 liters of fuel compared with a conventional combustion engine. This translates into around 4 tons less CO2 emissions and at least € 2,000 less spent at the gas station.

An electric car is not an option for everyone today. Reasons for this could be a lot of long-distance driving or the lack of a sufficient local charging infrastructure. In this case, 48V hybrids are a practical solution that minimizes the climate burden and makes driving yet more comfortable and safe.

How does mechanical integration in the powertrain work?

Mild hybrid technology can be integrated into all existing powertrain architectures for internal combustion engines. Depending on the desired level of performance and CO2 savings, the effort ranges from very low to medium.

Mild hybridization always requires installing an e-machine with an inverter in the powertrain in addition to the combustion engine. On top of that, a small 48V battery (~0.5 - 1kWh) is added to feed the 48V on-board electrical system. Lastly, a DC/DC converter supplies the 12V on-board electrical system. On the other hand, the lower voltage makes complex and therefore expensive high-voltage protection requirements and cable harnesses unnecessary.

The required e-machine can be flexibly installed in the powertrain - on the belt, in the transmission environment, or on the rear axle. The CO2 savings, e-driving capabilities, the integration effort, and the associated system costs all depend on where the 48V machine’s position in the powertrain. This placement is also called "topology", with the installation positions being abbreviated as "P0" to "P4".


P0: belt integration

is the most basic solution for mild hybridization. For this, a 48V machine such as the BRM simply replaces the generator in its existing integration space on the belt. Modification of the powertrain architecture is minimal - and so are implementation efforts and system costs. Nevertheless, the recuperation of this " starter generator " can already reduce fuel consumption by up to 15% in real-world operation compared to a conventional combustion engine.


P1: between the combustion engine and the transmission

However, this is rarely used in practice, as implementation here is more complex and costly than with P0, without leveraging further savings potential to a great extent.


P2 / P3: transmission setting

P2 indicates an integration directly on the side of the main transmission or connected via a belt, P3 describes the position directly behind it on the drive shaft. Both topologies feature a comparable cost/benefit ratio. However, they are mechanically much more complex than P0. For example, the e-motor needs to be installed in the transmission not as a whole but as individual components, and air cooling is not possible. In addition, a starter motor is usually still needed in this setup, which also drives up costs.

In return, higher savings of up to 22% can be realized due to lower frictional losses in the engine. Slow, purely electric driving ("creep/crawl mode"), e.g. when parking or during stop-and-go in traffic jams, is technically possible as well.

P4: rear axle

Integration of one or two 48V machines on the rear axle via a differential gear. Frictional losses in the powertrain are lowest here, allowing for the highest savings (up to 25%). In addition, this topology offers the most comprehensive e-driving functions. Besides the "creep/crawl mode", a (temporary) all-wheel drive could be enabled in conjunction with the combustion engine. This solution represents the most extensive modification of the powertrain and entails the highest system costs. In this case, an additional starter or starter-generator is also still necessary.

On the other hand, with the appropriate transmission ratio and power of the e-motor, P4 topology can also be used to drive 48V full hybrids or even compact 48V electric vehicles - without the safety architecture otherwise required for high-voltage.

What is the benefit of the 48V on-board electrical system? Does it replace the 12V on-board electrical system?

The number of electrical consumers in cars today is much higher than it used to be. Safety and comfort features such as active wheel suspension or windshield heaters are just as energy-hungry as high-performance pumps or turbochargers.

Due to the four times higher voltage level, a 48V machine can recuperate and significantly more kinetic energy. It then reliably supplies high-performance consumers and enables additional driving functions such as comfort start, boost and coasting . At the same time, 48V is a low enough to be non-hazardous to humans. In contrast to high-voltage systems, the 48V on-board electrical system therefore has no special safety requirements.

A 48V mild hybrid actually has two electrical systems. The conventional 12V system continues to supply all low-voltage consumers, such as the radio, headlights, or window regulators. Not switching these components to a different voltage level results in less complexity associated with system integration. A DC/DC converter connects the two electrical systems - the recuperated braking energy can therefore also supply the 12V electrical system.

Comparison of technologies: What is the difference between a mild hybrid, full hybrid, plug-in hybrid and an electric car?

All these drive concepts have an e-motor on board - but they differ especially in terms of primary energy source, voltage level, and electric driving functions.

Mild-Hybrid

With mild hybrids, the main drive is the combustion engine. The e-machine primarily serves to improve efficiency: Braking energy is recovered, stored in a small 48V battery (~0.5 - 1 kWh), and used for additional torque and to supply the on-board electrical system. This saves 15-25% of fuel consumption, depending on the topology. Purely electric driving is not possible at all or only with severe restrictions.


Full-Hybrid

The full hybrid is based on the same principle. Energy is only supplied to the system externally via fuel, while the e-motor recuperates kinetic energy during braking and makes it available again later. The difference: Full hybrids usually operate on a high-voltage basis and have a larger battery. Security requirements and system costs are therefore significantly higher. On the plus side, even more energy can be recovered and stored, and short distances can be driven purely with the e-motor.

Plug-in-Hybrid

A plug-in hybrid has two full-fledged drives - an internal combustion engine and a high-voltage electric motor. This "double motorization" and the larger battery (often around 10kWh) add costs and weight. In return, purely electric driving is usually possible for around 40-60 km, and the combustion engine is theoretically only necessary for cross-country travel. The battery is charged via a socket, such as the household mains.


E-Auto (BEV)

The battery-powered electric vehicle (BEV) does not need an internal combustion engine at all. It does, however, require significantly larger batteries - around 20kWh of battery capacity per 100km, depending on the model. Here, too, charging takes place via the home power socket - or at the growing network of public charging stations

There is currently no single best choice for every consumer - the differences are too significant in terms of personal needs (e.g., pure city car vs. professional driver) and regional requirements (especially with regard to the charging infrastructure and the share of renewable energy in the electricity mix). In the long term, the transformation of individual mobility is clearly moving toward BEVs; however, mild hybrid vehicles in particular can still prevent a lot of unnecessary CO2 emissions on this journey.

For which types of vehicles can 48V be used?

Combining a powerful e-motor with low safety requirements makes 48V machines suitable for a wide range of applications beyond mild hybrid applications.

In addition to the product portfolios of automobile manufacturers, 48V machines increasingly establish themselves as the main drive for light electric vehicles. These applications range from e-scooters like the Schwalbe to electric rickshaws and minivans in India.

In passenger cars, too, 48V can do more than just mild hybridization. E-machines can be scaled accordingly to deliver sufficient power to drive 48V full hybrids or even compact 48V electric vehicles. For example, putting two EM 1.25s on the rear axle could accomplish this.

In the commercial vehicle sector, 48V machines are also opening up new possibilities - from the start-stop function in light trucks to the mild hybridization of heavy trucks. 48V systems also create new benefits and opportunities to reduce emissions in various off-road applications such as riding mowers.


Two and three-wheelers can be fully electrified with a 48V BRM, for example.

What makes mild hybridization interesting for manufacturers as well?

48V integrates three aspects that are very attractive for automobile manufacturers, especially in combination: Significant reduction of CO2 emissions, marketable benefits for the end consumer, and cost-effective integration into existing vehicle platforms.

Increasingly stringent CO2 limits are putting pressure on manufacturers to make their vehicles ever more efficient. The systematic introduction of 48V hybrids across the portfolio can reduce fleet consumption quickly and effectively. It also makes it easier to meet emissions standards such as Euro7 in the future - on the one hand due to lower fuel consumption, but also because the 48V on-board electric system can preheat the catalytic converter during cold starts, and thus reduce emission spikes.

At the same time, with its benefits for the driver , 48V has become and additional purchase incentive. Customers are wooed explicitly with the lower consumption and additional features such as comfort start or boost .

The mechanical integration effort is very manageable. A 48V machine can easily replace the conventional generator in its installation place on the belt with a low cost impact in virtually all existing vehicle platforms. The 48V hybrid system is not only economical for the customer - it can also save costs for the manufacturer by avoiding possible penalty payments. In the EU, for example, an easy-to-achieve saving of 10g CO2 per km through mild hybridization corresponds to an avoided penalty payment of € 950.00 - essentially covering the system costs for a P0 solution .

Glass vehicle at red light with close up on 48V Boost Recuperation Machine

What 48V solutions does SEG Automotive offer?

SEG Automotive develops products for all powertrain architectures - regardless of whether the energy comes from fuel, battery, or hydrogen. Our goal is always the same: to make the vehicle as efficient as possible. Our robust solutions thus accelerate the shift to more efficient combustion engines, electric vehicles and climate-neutral mobility.

Specifically for 48V, we offer three different product families for a variety of applications - Depending on the customer's needs, SEG Automotive provides these solutions as a complete package with electronics and software or as individual components:

What career opportunities are there in SEG Automotive's 48V Division?

The complexity of cars has increased rapidly in recent years, and not just because of autonomous driving functions. As a result, our 48V and electrification products are backed by closely integrated teams for hardware, software, electronics, testing and manufacturing. From validation, prototyping and process development to coding and quality assurance, we offer exciting job profiles for engineers, software developers, logistics specialists, and more. See our Job Portal for more information.



Engineer CAD design